The Academy has announced its newly elected 2024–2025 Board of Governors. The Board is responsible for directing the Academy's strategic vision, preserving the organization's financial health and assuring the fulfillment of its mission.

The Academy has 19 branches, each represented by three governors, except for the recently established Animation Branch, represented by two governors; the recently established Short Films Branch, represented by one governor; and the Production and Technology Branch, represented by one governor. Governors, including the board-appointed governors-at-large, may serve up to two three-year terms (consecutive or non-consecutive), followed by a two-year hiatus, after which eligibility renews for up to two additional three-year terms for a lifetime maximum of 12 years.

With the new governors, the 55-member Board comprises 53% women and 27% belonging to an underrepresented racial or ethnic group.

Here is the full list of newly appointed governors in every branch: (The Production and Technology Branch and Animation Branch did not hold elections.)

Incumbent governors reelected to the Board:

Rita Wilson, Actors Branch
Kim Taylor-Coleman, Casting Directors Branch
Paul Cameron, Cinematographers Branch
Eduardo Castro, Costume Designers Branch
Jean Tsien, Documentary Branch
Pam Abdy, Executives Branch
Terilyn A. Shropshire, Film Editors Branch
Laura C. Kim, Marketing and Public Relations Branch
Lesley Barber, Music Branch
Brooke Breton, Visual Effects Branch
Howard A. Rodman, Writers Branch

Elected to the Board for the first time:

Patricia Cardoso, Directors Branch
Jennifer Fox, Producers Branch
K.K. Barrett, Production Design Branch
Chris Tashima, Short Films Branch
Andy Nelson, Sound Branch

Returning to the Board after a hiatus:

Lois Burwell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch

They will join returning governors Wendy Aylsworth, Dion Beebe, Howard Berger, Jason Blum, Rob Bredow, Ruth E. Carter, Megan Colligan, Paul Debevec, Peter Devlin, David I. Dinerstein, Ava DuVernay, Linda Flowers, Charles Fox, DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo García, Richard Gibbs, Donna Gigliotti, Jinko Gotoh, Chris Hegedus, Richard Hicks, Lynette Howell Taylor, Kalina Ivanov, Simon Kilmurry, Ellen Kuras, Marlee Matlin, Hannah Minghella, Daniel Orlandi, Missy Parker, Lou Diamond Phillips, Jason Reitman, Nancy Richardson, Stephen Rivkin, Eric Roth, Dana Stevens, Mark P. Stoeckinger, Marlon West, Janet Yang and Debra Zane.


Your Guide to 2024's Most-Anticipated Summer Movies

Bill Kramer Sets the Stage for Academy100, the Academy's Biggest Global Initiative to Date (Exclusive)

Oscars Voting 101: How It Works and Who Gets to Vote