The Academy Museum of Motion Pictures held its third annual gala on Sunday, Dec. 3 and raised over $10 million to support the museum's exhibitions, education initiatives, and public programming. And the gala itself was quite the star-studded event!

Director and President of the Academy Museum, Jacqueline Stewart, welcomed the esteemed guests for cocktails in the museum's Sidney Poitier Lobby. Later, attendees were treated to a special beatnik dance performance choreographed by Stephen Galloway as they made their way to dinner on the Dolby Family Terrace. Before the night concluded, Billie Eilish and Finneas took the stage for a surprise performance.

Among those in attendance for the evening were Adrien Brody, America Ferrera, Angela Bassett, Cillian Murphy, Dua Lipa, Emerald Fennell, Eva Longoria, Fantasia Barrino, Gael García Bernal, Greta Lee, Julianne Moore, Ke Huy Quan, Keke Palmer, Leonardo DiCaprio, Lily Gladstone, Paul Giamatti, Peter Sarsgaard, Regina Hall, Robert Downey Jr., Salma Hayek, Sandra Oh, Saoirse Ronan, Selena Gomez, Stephanie Hsu, Willem Dafoe and many more.

Adrien Brody, Charles Melton and Robert Downey Jr. | ©Academy Museum Foundation, Photo by: Hunter Abrams
EXCLUSIVE PHOTO: Oprah Winfrey, Ava DuVernay, Gayle King and Jacqueline Stewart | ©Academy Museum Foundation, Photo by: Sinna Nasseri
Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas, Cillian Murphy and Yvonne McGuinness | ©Academy Museum Foundation, Photo by: Hunter Abrams

Presented by Rolex, the gala honored four Hollywood icons for their contributions to film both past and present. Greta Gerwig presented three-time Oscar winner and 21-time nominee Meryl Streep with the Academy Museum Gala Icon Award, celebrating her significant global cultural impact. The Visionary Award was presented to Sofia Coppola by Chloé Zhao in recognition of the Oscar-winning filmmaker's extensive body of work.

This year's Vantage Award was presented by Christopher Nolan to actor, director and producer Michael B. Jordan for his work as an emerging artist helping to contextualize and challenge dominant narratives around cinema. Jordan's sister, Jamila, was in attendance to accept on his behalf.

Finally, Oprah Winfrey received the Pillar Award from gala co-chair Ava DuVernay, acknowledging Winfrey's leadership and support for the Academy Museum.

Greta Gerwig and Meryl Streep | ©Academy Museum Foundation, Photo by: Hunter Abrams
Christopher Nolan and Jamila Jordan | ©Academy Museum Foundation, Photo by: Hunter Abrams
Sofia Coppola and Chloe Zhao | ©Academy Museum Foundation, Photo by: Hunter Abrams
Ava DuVernay and Oprah Winfrey | ©Academy Museum Foundation, Photo by: Hunter Abrams


GALLERY: Academy Museum of Motion Pictures Gala 2023

Holiday Gift Guide 2023

GALLERY: Red Carpet Sightings — December 2023